## F. No. 4-38/2010 WL-I Government of India Ministry of Environment and Forests Wildlife Division

Paryavaran Bhawan, CGO Complex, Lodhi Road, New Delhi – 110003.

Dated: 15th February 2011.

## Office Memorandum

Sub: Constitution of Steering Committee for the Red listing process in India.

In pursuance to the recommendations of the consultative workshop on the red listing process held on 1<sup>st</sup> February 2011, jointly by the Ministry of Environment and Forests and the International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN), it has been decided to constitute a Steering Committee to look into the entire gamut of issues related to the process of the red listing of species.

2. The composition and Terms of Reference of the Steering Committee are as under:

1.	Addl. Director General of Forests (WL) & Director, Wildlife	Chairman
	Preservation	
2.	Shri A.K. Srivastava, Inspector General of Forests (Wildlife)	Member
3.	Director, Wildlife Institute of India/his representative	Member
4.	Dr Venkatraman, Director, Zoological Survey of India	Member
5.	Dr D.K. Singh, Director, Botanical Survey of India	Member
6.	Dr J.S. Rawat, IUCN-India Office, New Delhi.	Member
7.	Dr Asad Rahmani, Director, Bombay Natural History Society, Mumbai	Member
8.	Dr Sanjay Molur, Executive Director, Zoo Outreach Organization, Coimbatore	Member
9.	Dr J. R. Bhatt, Director, CS Division, MoEF	Co-convenor
10.	Ms. Prakriti Srivastava, Deputy Inspector General (WL), MoEF	Co-convenor and Member Secretary

## Terms of Reference:

- i. To propose a clear and doable strategy and set of actions to move forward undertaking a Red listing process in India
- ii. To suggest delegation of task of Red listing of major taxa to various organization/institutions on the basis of their competence.
- iii. To suggest an institutional mechanism for undertaking Red listing process in India on regular basis.
- 3. The committee would be free to co-opt any additional experts as members as per requirement.
- 4. The non-official members of the Committee shall be entitled for travelling and all other allowances as applicable to the non official members as per SR 190.
- 5. The Committee would submit its report by 31st March 2011.

This issues with the approval of the Competent authority.

(Prakriti Srivastava)

Deputy Inspector General (WL)

Telefax: 011-24360704

## Distribution:

- 1. PS to Hon'ble MOS (I/C) E & F.
- 2. PPS to Secretary, E&F.
- 3. PPS to DGF & SS.
- 4. PPS to Addl. DGF (WL).
- 5. PS to IGF (WL)
- 6. All Members of Steering Committee.
- 7. NIC Cell- with a request to upload the O.M on the official website of MoEF.